Posted by: Lori Schmidt Lutze | May 23, 2010

Life’s a Moving Target

Target has a brand new ad campaign:  Life’s a moving target.  Ain’t that the truth!  Just when I think I have one thing figured out, another one pops up to make me wonder what I thought I’d figured out.  I used to work for a principal who said, “Life isn’t ready, aim, fire.  It’s ready, fire, adjust.”  No wonder he was the principal.

After I saw the Target ad telling me that life’s a moving target, I felt compelled to go spend $100 at their store.  You can’t get out of Target without spending $100.  And once I was motivated by their catchy new slogan, I just knew that $100 was going to fly from my wallet.  I think the bill actually came to $104.32 so they got an extra $4.32 out of me.  I guess the new slogan made me go above and beyond my shopper’s duty.  

When I entered the store I decided I would only buy stuff that was in keeping with the new ad campaign.  So, rather than buying the usual toilet paper, baggies, dish soap, and mascara, I challenged myself to go with the moving target theme and try a few different brands.  How risky, yet exciting! 

Here was my favorite find on that moving target shopping trip . . . 

. . . a pillow with advice to help me.  Did you know this slogan was an order from the British Government in 1939?  Well, if the Queen is suggesting that we keep calm and carry on, Joyce and I are all for it.  Don’t you love how Her Majesty and Target are teaming up to help people?

It would be far worse to do this . . .

Keep Calm and Carry On: Now Panic And Freak Out series

. . . even though freaking out and panicking can be an easy first response.  And I’ve been inspired by Target:  life is going to keep changing things up and the new pillow they sold me encourages me to keep calm.  I love retail therapy!

Sometimes you, too, may feel surprised by what life throws your way:

You won’t be surprised by life, however, when you hold on to your keep calm and carry on pillow.

Sometimes you might feel blue:

But your spirits will be raised when you listen to the Queen and carry on.

Because life is a moving target, you may feel overwhelmed:

But you’ll be okay when you rest your head on the word CALM.  I just love royal advice, don’t you? 

Here’s another little tip to put in your pipe and smoke.  AudreyJoyce once told me that life is like cooking.  While you’re gathering your ingredients, measuring, chopping, and assembling, there may be something simmering over there on the stove.  And it’s just going to be simmering and simmering and simmering.  There’s nothing you can do about it.  But you can’t stop measuring, chopping, and assembling just because something is simmering.  In essence, you keep calm and carry on and just let the thing simmer.  And eventually it will all work out. 

So, ready, fire, and adjust because life is a moving target.  Keep calm.  Carry on.  Let it simmer.  And don’t forget to wear your crown while you’re at it.

                                       View Image

Responses

  1. This is advice to be remembered and treasured.
    I understand where you’re coming from.

  2. I love this advise, I love Target, and I love to ‘carry on and on and on’ and if I have a drink in my hand I can carry on for a looooong time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

