Posted by: Lori Schmidt Lutze | June 13, 2010

Going Home

My posts have been sporadic in the past few weeks because there has been something simmering behind the scenes.  Yes, things simmer even in Joyceland.  At the beginning of February my dad was diagnosed with an aggressive prostate cancer that had metastasized to his omentum.  I’ve kept the fun going because my dad is my biggest fan and he wouldn’t have it any other way.  He’s always been my best cheerleader.  My humor comes from him and no one loves a good joke or a bit of fun more than The Bobster.  But last night we took him to hospice and it looks like he’s preparing for his journey home.  Our prayers and companionship will be lighting his way.  I tried to pack his boxer shorts covered with red hearts and condo man sunglasses, but we decided it would be too much for the nurses.  Besides, he doesn’t need things for this trip, he’ll just be taking his soul and our love.  Dapper as The Bobster likes to be, it’s nice to be able to pack only the things of the heart when you’re headed for the most important destination of your life.     

No one knows how long this journey will take; it’s difficult to predict such things.  So if I’m not posting, at least you know what’s simmering behind the scenes.  Keep Joyceland in your heart as will The Bobster and I . . . and I’ll be back sooner or later . . .

View Image

Responses

  1. I’m so sorry to hear this. You will be in my thoughts.

  2. You, Bobster, and family will be in my heart with lots of thoughts and prayers your way. I’m so sorry to hear of his illness. Big hugs and forever laughs.

  3. I am so sorry. the loss of a parent is never easy. I will keep you in my thoughts.

  4. I’m sending BIG LOVE your way and many blessings.

  5. I’m so sorry. I’ll be thinking of you and your Dad and sending prayers.

  6. oh my….can’t even think of the right words to express how sorry I am. You are in my prayers. There is something special between daughters and their fathers. Losing him is one of the most difficult experiences you’llever face. Surround yourself with family and friends…you are not alone. He is at peace, and I pray that brings some sort of comfort to you. ~Donna

  7. I am so sorry to hear your sad news. The Bobster would have loved your tribute to him in Joyceland. You and your family are in my prayers. Sending you hugs through cyberspace. Amy

  8. I am very, very sad to report to all of Joyceland that The Bobster left the lovers of Joyceland last nite and is now in the arms of his maker….entertaining all, I’m sure.

  9. My condolences to you and your family. I lost my mom last summer and it’s difficult to not have that tangible person in your life. I believe our relationships live on forever in spirit though. Celebrate your dad’s life and love that is his legacy to you and yours.

  10. Lori, I know that like myself your dad is proud of you! You add so much joy to everyones life you come i contact with. Thinking of you and your family during this tough time.

  11. Lori – My sincere condolences. I will always remember your Dad as the fun, funny, classy guy that he truly was.

  12. Such a wonderful man with a wonderful life!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

