Posted by: Lori Schmidt Lutze | November 4, 2009

Baba Wawa interviews Sheila

November’s Person of Intrigue is Sheila, a woman who lives the Joyce lifestyle.  She exemplifies a successful and regular escape to all things Joyce.  Sheila’s celebrity look-alikes include: 

  Go to fullsize image

Awww . . . isn’t that Ali McGraw a beauty?  (But we disagree that ‘love means never having to say you’re sorry.’  Sometimes, you do have to say you’re sorry, silly Ali.  You just do.)  In a Joyceland movie, Sheila could also be played by . . . drum roll please . . .

Go to fullsize image

. . . Debra Messing.  Ms. Messing is very good with physical comedy and that’s Sheila’s God-given talent, too.  We were lucky this month that Barbara Walters offered to interview Sheila on some of her Joyce-ish ways. . .

Baba Wawa:  Sheila, what is your favowite easy meal to pwepawe?  Well, I have several.  I love to prepare Texas Straw Hats which are made of ground beef, sour cream, Fritos.  Who isn’t in heaven eating a straw hat like that?  My family often screams, “Bring on the straw hats.”  I also suggest cooking up stir fry meat and just serving that by itself.  We call it ‘finger meat’ at our house.  I just set the pan in the middle of the table, give a loud whistle, and everyone comes running and starts grabbing.  It’s meat for the fingers.  So easy.  So delicious.

Baba Wawa:  Tell us how you use a naked weaw end to ‘go for the laugh.’  You know, Baba, I’m the type of Joycelander who LIVES for the laugh.  So, sometimes, when I get together with friends, I like to wear a bare rear end which is sewn into some boxer shorts.  From a distance, it looks like I’m mooning everyone and people get a big kick out of it.  It makes me just a little bit more popular than everyone else. 

Baba Wawa:  Sheila, what do you mean by ‘a gin and tonic isn’t just for dinnew?’  Well, Baba Wawa, there are days when mama likes to have a gin and tonic meal replacement.  It’s similar to the Slim-Fast program, but with a gin and tonic instead.  

View Image

Baba Wawa:  Tell us what you do when you want to feel pwetty.  One of my favorite things to do to increase my self-esteem is to head over to the Home Depot wearing a tennis skirt.  I find that I get noticed right away by male customers and I get awesome service.  If anyone tries to peek up my skirt, I just give them a little slap and then they focus on customer service again.  Home Depot + a tennis skirt = lots of attention from men.

Sheila:  Baba, I feel semi-famous to have been interviewed by you.  How did you get to be so successful?

View Image    

(Which just goes to prove Joyce’s point: even the famous are no more special than any of the rest of us!  Look for Part 2 of Baba’s interview with Sheila, our POI, tomorrow!)

Responses

  1. I’ve heard TX Straw Hats referred to as Walking Tacos, served at the IL State Fair!! Do they require implements to eat, or just (greasy) fingers?

  2. Straw hats, YaYa hats, tiaras, paper bags placed over ones head when talking sex w/ your mother, bump-its (a form of hat)…I soooo see a pattern here. I can’t wait for tomorrows post!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

